Standard Ebooks


Wilfred Owen

The cover for the Standard Ebooks edition of Poetry, by Wilfred Owen


Wilfred Owen was a soldier and poet during the second half of the first World War. His poetry, contrary to the propaganda of the time, dealt with the horrors of front-line trench warfare and was written at least partially out of a sense of duty to tell of the realities of war. Most of his poetry was published posthumously in 1920 after his death in combat in November 1918, a mere week before the armistice was signed.

His poetry, along with that of his close friend Siegfried Sassoon, is now regarded as an authentic voice of the experiences of the soldiers of the War. Held in especially high regard are Dulce Et Decorum Est with its vivid description of a gas attack, and Anthem for Doomed Youth. The poems are here presented in chronological order according to the date of final revision.

Read free

This ebook is only thought to be free of copyright restrictions in the United States. It may still be under copyright in other countries. If you’re not located in the United States, you must check your local laws to verify that the contents of this ebook are free of copyright restrictions in the country you’re located in before downloading or using this ebook.

Download for ereaders

  • Compatible epub All devices and apps except Kindles and Kobos.

  • azw3 Kindle devices and apps. Also download the Kindle cover thumbnail to see the cover in your Kindle’s library.

  • kepub Kobo devices and apps.

  • Advanced epub An advanced format not yet fully compatible with most ereaders.

Read online

A brief history of this ebook

  1. Update core.css to new standards

  2. Update CSS to new standards

  3. Update core CSS files

  4. Update core.css, se.css, and titlepage to new standards

  5. Fix epub|type CSS selector

More details

Improve this ebook

Anyone can contribute to make a Standard Ebook better for everyone!

To report typos, typography errors, or other corrections, see how to report errors.

If you’re comfortable with technology and want to contribute directly, check out this ebook’s GitHub repository and our contributors section.