Standard Ebooks

Anne of the Island

L. M. Montgomery


Anne Shirley leaves home to attend Redmond College and pursue a degree. Some of her classmates are going with her, including her childhood enemy turned friend Gilbert Blythe, while other childhood friends are staying in Avonlea to work, get married, and start families. She is also leaving behind her friends and family, but will stay in touch with them through letters and visits home during winter breaks and summer vacations. The story follows the adventures of Anne and her friends during their college years, focusing on the female relationships and emotional growth of the characters.

Anne of the Island is chronologically the third novel in the Anne of Green Gables series, but is the fourth one to have been published. It’s written with L. M. Montgomery’s signature blend of humor, literary allusions, keen observations of human nature, and enchanting descriptions of the natural world.

Read free

This ebook is thought to be free of copyright restrictions in the United States. It may still be under copyright in other countries. If you’re not located in the United States, you must check your local laws to verify that this ebook is free of copyright restrictions in the country you’re located in before accessing, downloading, or using it.

Download for ereaders

Read online

A brief history of this ebook

  1. Finish metadata and initial publication

  2. Update metadata boilerplate

  3. Update metadata boilerplate

  4. Update ONIX file to new standards

  5. Fix typo

More details



Page scans

Improve this ebook

Anyone can contribute to make a Standard Ebook better for everyone!

To report typos, typography errors, or other corrections, see how to report errors.

If you’re comfortable with technology and want to contribute directly, check out this ebook’s GitHub repository and our contributors section.

You can also donate to Standard Ebooks to help fund continuing improvement of this and other ebooks.