Standard Ebooks

Short Plays

J. M. Synge


J. M. Synge first gained fame as a playwright with two plays inspired by his time in the Aran Islands, “In the Shadow of the Glen” and “Riders to the Sea.” The first is set in County Wicklow, where a tramp arrives at an isolated cottage late at night as a dissatisfied woman is waking her dead husband. The second is set on the Aran Islands, where a woman waits for news of her son, who is missing at sea.

This collection also includes “The Tinker’s Wedding,” a short comedy written about the time of the other two plays but not performed until much later for fear that its treatment of a rural Irish priest would scandalize Dublin’s pious audiences.

Read free

This ebook is thought to be free of copyright restrictions in the United States. It may still be under copyright in other countries. If you’re not located in the United States, you must check your local laws to verify that this ebook is free of copyright restrictions in the country you’re located in before accessing, downloading, or using it.

Download for ereaders

Read online

A brief history of this ebook

  1. Update metadata boilerplate

  2. Update core.css to new standards

  3. Finish metadata and initial publication

  4. Tweak colophon

  5. Tweak semantics

More details



Page scans

Improve this ebook

Anyone can contribute to make a Standard Ebook better for everyone!

To report typos, typography errors, or other corrections, see how to report errors.

If you’re comfortable with technology and want to contribute directly, check out this ebook’s GitHub repository and our contributors section.

You can also donate to Standard Ebooks to help fund continuing improvement of this and other ebooks.