Standard Ebooks

Pointed Roofs

Dorothy M. Richardson


Pointed Roofs is the first installment in Dorothy M. Richardson’s Pilgrimage sequence of autobiographical novels. It is also one of the first novels identified with the modernist technique of stream of consciousness.

Set in the early 1890s, Pointed Roofs centers on seventeen-year-old Miriam Henderson. After her family runs into financial troubles, Miriam is sent to Germany to teach English at a finishing school in Hanover. The narrative chronicles Miriam’s daily life at the school, as well as outings to the city and the countryside with the other teachers and pupils. All the while, it tells of her experience of living abroad, her attitude to the people around her, her future prospects, and her thoughts on religion, literature, and the status of women in society.

Read free

This ebook is thought to be free of copyright restrictions in the United States. It may still be under copyright in other countries. If you’re not located in the United States, you must check your local laws to verify that this ebook is free of copyright restrictions in the country you’re located in before accessing, downloading, or using it.

Download for ereaders

Read online

A brief history of this ebook

  1. Update accessibility boilerplate

  2. Update Onix file boilerplate

  3. Update metadata boilerplate

  4. Update core.css to new standards

  5. Add z3998:name-title semantic to some abbreviations

More details



Page scans

Improve this ebook

Anyone can contribute to make a Standard Ebook better for everyone!

To report typos, typography errors, or other corrections, see how to report errors.

If you’re comfortable with technology and want to contribute directly, check out this ebook’s GitHub repository and our contributors section.

You can also donate to Standard Ebooks to help fund continuing improvement of this and other ebooks.