Standard Ebooks


Dorothy M. Richardson


Honeycomb is the third installment in Dorothy M. Richardson’s pioneering sequence of semi-autobiographical novels, Pilgrimage.

Miriam Henderson, after spending time as a teacher in a German school in the first novel, Pointed Roofs, and in a suburban London school in the second, Backwater, has found a place as governess with a wealthy English family. From her perspective as an outsider she observes the lives of the wealthy women who live in, and visit, the house.

At the same time, after her father’s disgrace Miriam’s own family faces challenges and changes—including her sisters’ marriages—leaving Miriam with a closer relationship, and a new understanding, of her mother.

Read free

This ebook is thought to be free of copyright restrictions in the United States. It may still be under copyright in other countries. If you’re not located in the United States, you must check your local laws to verify that this ebook is free of copyright restrictions in the country you’re located in before accessing, downloading, or using it.

Download for ereaders

Read online

A brief history of this ebook

  1. Update accessibility boilerplate

  2. Update Onix file boilerplate

  3. Fix typo in long description, content.opf

  4. Finish metadata and initial publication

  5. Update metadata boilerplate

More details



Page scans

Improve this ebook

Anyone can contribute to make a Standard Ebook better for everyone!

To report typos, typography errors, or other corrections, see how to report errors.

If you’re comfortable with technology and want to contribute directly, check out this ebook’s GitHub repository and our contributors section.

You can also donate to Standard Ebooks to help fund continuing improvement of this and other ebooks.