Standard Ebooks

The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club

Dorothy L. Sayers


The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club, published in 1928, is the fourth novel by Dorothy L. Sayers in her series of mysteries featuring her aristocratic detective Lord Peter Wimsey.

As the novel opens, Wimsey is at the exclusive Bellona Club prior to attending an Armistice Day dinner, when a very elderly man, General Fentiman, is discovered to have died quietly in his chair. Following the old man’s death—which appears to have been of natural causes—a question arises about the exact timing of his decease, because of a dispute over the will of Fentiman’s wealthy sister. Wimsey is assigned to try to determine this fact and his investigation soon leads to many puzzling complications.

The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club was regarded by at least one prominent critic to be the best of Sayers’ early work. It was made into a television mini-series in 1973 by the B.B.C.

Read free

This ebook is thought to be free of copyright restrictions in the United States. It may still be under copyright in other countries. If you’re not located in the United States, you must check your local laws to verify that this ebook is free of copyright restrictions in the country you’re located in before accessing, downloading, or using it.

Download for ereaders

Read online

A brief history of this ebook

  1. Update word count in metadata

  2. Update accessibility boilerplate

  3. Update Onix file boilerplate

  4. Add semantics

  5. Restore 'Mr.'

More details


Page scans

Improve this ebook

Anyone can contribute to make a Standard Ebook better for everyone!

To report typos, typography errors, or other corrections, see how to report errors.

If you’re comfortable with technology and want to contribute directly, check out this ebook’s GitHub repository and our contributors section.

You can also donate to Standard Ebooks to help fund continuing improvement of this and other ebooks.