Standard Ebooks

The Casebook of Sherlock Holmes

Arthur Conan Doyle


The Casebook of Sherlock Holmes, published in 1927, collects the final set of Sherlock Holmes stories authored by Arthur Conan Doyle. All of the included stories appeared previously in The Strand Magazine between October 1921 and April 1927.

As usual, the mysteries generally purport to be accounts written by Holmes’s friend Dr. John Watson. Uniquely, however, three stories in the Casebook are presented from alternative points of view: “The Adventure of the Mazarin Stone” is narrated in the third person, since it was adapted from a stage play in which Watson hardly appeared; and “The Adventure of the Blanched Soldier” and “The Adventure of the Lion’s Mane” are both narrated by Holmes himself, the latter being set after his retirement as a detective.

Read free

This ebook is thought to be free of copyright restrictions in the United States. It may still be under copyright in other countries. If you’re not located in the United States, you must check your local laws to verify that this ebook is free of copyright restrictions in the country you’re located in before accessing, downloading, or using it.

Download for ereaders

Read online

A brief history of this ebook

  1. Update accessibility boilerplate

  2. Update Onix file boilerplate

  3. Correct transcription typos

  4. Rebuild manifest

  5. Restore lost italics

More details



Page scans

Improve this ebook

Anyone can contribute to make a Standard Ebook better for everyone!

To report typos, typography errors, or other corrections, see how to report errors.

If you’re comfortable with technology and want to contribute directly, check out this ebook’s GitHub repository and our contributors section.

You can also donate to Standard Ebooks to help fund continuing improvement of this and other ebooks.