Standard Ebooks

The Last Chronicle of Barset

Anthony Trollope


The Last Chronicle of Barset is the sixth, and as its title would suggest, final novel in Anthony Trollope’s Chronicles of Barsetshire. Like the earlier books, it was serialized in Cornhill Magazine, with a hardcover edition coming out in 1867. It brings together many of the characters who had appeared in series’ earlier novels, and rounds off a number of story threads that those novels began.

The primary storyline is concerned with the Reverend Josiah Crawley, who, as the book opens, has been accused of passing a check for twenty pounds, a check not made out to himself and whose possession he cannot account for. The accusation has significant implications for many of the other characters.

The Last Chronicle of Barset was made into a television series released by the BBC in 1959. Along with the other novels in the series, it was made into a radio play released by Radio 4 in the United Kingdom in the 1990s.

Read free

This ebook is thought to be free of copyright restrictions in the United States. It may still be under copyright in other countries. If you’re not located in the United States, you must check your local laws to verify that this ebook is free of copyright restrictions in the country you’re located in before accessing, downloading, or using it.

Download for ereaders

Read online

A brief history of this ebook

  1. Update word count in metadata

  2. Update accessibility boilerplate

  3. Update Onix file boilerplate

  4. Typogrify

  5. Update metadata boilerplate

More details



Page scans

Improve this ebook

Anyone can contribute to make a Standard Ebook better for everyone!

To report typos, typography errors, or other corrections, see how to report errors.

If you’re comfortable with technology and want to contribute directly, check out this ebook’s GitHub repository and our contributors section.

You can also donate to Standard Ebooks to help fund continuing improvement of this and other ebooks.