Standard Ebooks

About Standard Ebooks

Standard Ebooks is a volunteer-driven effort to produce a collection of high quality, carefully formatted, accessible, open source, and free public domain ebooks that meet or exceed the quality of commercially produced ebooks. The text and cover art in our ebooks is already believed to be in the U.S. public domain, and Standard Ebooks dedicates its own work to the public domain, thus releasing the entirety of each ebook file into the public domain. All the ebooks we produce are distributed free of cost and free of U.S. copyright restrictions.

Standard Ebooks is organized as a “low-profit L.L.C.,” or “L3C,” a kind of legal entity that blends the charitable focus of a traditional not-for-profit with the ease of organization and maintenance of a regular L.L.C. Our only source of income is donations from readers like you.

More information



  1. A portrait of Alex Cabal.

    Alex Cabal Contact information for Alex Cabal.


“Editor” is the honorary title bestowed on volunteers who, in their history of contributing to Standard Ebooks, have demonstrated exceptional capability in producing ebooks, as well as in managing and reviewing ebooks produced by other volunteers. They continue to volunteer as first-line consultants for new ebook projects.

  1. A portrait of Robin Whittleton.

    David Grigg Contact information for David Grigg.

  2. A portrait of Robin Whittleton.

    B. Timothy Keith Contact information for B. Timothy Keith.

  3. A portrait of Vince Rice.

    Vince Rice Contact information for Vince Rice.

  4. A portrait of Emma Sweeney.

    Emma Sweeney Contact information for Emma Sweeney.

  5. A portrait of Robin Whittleton.

    Robin Whittleton Contact information for Robin Whittleton.

Corporate Sponsors

  1. Threadable

  2. Scribophile

Patrons Circle

Join the Patrons Circle to support beautiful, free, and unrestricted digital literature, and to have a direct voice in shaping the future of the Standard Ebooks catalog.

  1. Jon Allen

  2. David Ballenger

  3. Michael Barrineau

  4. Leland Blanton

  5. Keith Bradner

  6. Chris Brooks

  7. Benjamin Bunnell

  8. Derrick Burns

  9. Robert Carreon

  10. Matthew Chan

  11. Andrew Clunis

  12. Mark Cohen

  13. Maxwell Collins-Shenfield

  14. Liza Daly

  15. In memory of Georgia Dawson

  16. Mahdi Dibaiee

  17. Jeffrey Dlouhy

  18. Christian Eager

  19. Alec Feather

  20. Wilhelm Fitzpatrick

  21. Mac Foster

  22. Joshua Go

  23. Joe Gracyk

  24. Michael Ham

  25. Carey Handfield

  26. Richard Healey

  27. Curtis Hendzell

  28. John Jarvis

  29. Jared Joslin

  30. Leonard Kirke

  31. Eric Korhonen

  32. Brendan LeFebvre

  33. Monica & Matthew Levine

  34. Lance Linimon

  35. James Luke

  36. Patrick Greeley Mahoney

  37. Jeff McFadden

  38. Judith Moore

  39. Sandeep Movva

  40. Ozan Ocal

  41. Andrew Roach

  42. David Romani

  43. Rollin Salsbery

  44. Brandon Sowers

  45. Aaron & Kaci Sudbrink

  46. Mark Swenson

  47. Edward Throckmorton

  48. Joshua Tompkins

  49. Ted van der Togt

  50. Robyn Weimer

  51. Nathan West

  52. Blake Westerdahl

  53. Patrick Weyer

  54. Jasper Bernard Weyers

  55. Anonymous × 27